Railways Minister announces promotions for Women Players

The Railways Minister was hugely impressed by the performance of Indian Women's team.

Indian Railways Minister has promised promotions for Indian Cricketers who were Railways employers.

The Honorable Railway Minister of India, Shri Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu on Sunday announced the out-of-turn promotions to the women cricketers in the ICC World Cup 2017 squad who work in the Railways.

There are 10 players out of 15-member WC squad in the Indian Women’s team associated with the Railways, including Captain Mithali Raj, Vice-captain Harmanpreet Kaur, Ekta Bisht, Punam Raut, Veda Krishnamurthy, Poonam Yadav, Sushma Verma, Mona Mesharm, Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Nuzhat Parween.

Rekha Yadav, ED/Sports & Secretary of the Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB), said, “Hon’ble Minister for Railways, Shri Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu has conveyed his best wishes to the Indian team. He has announced out-of-turn promotions to women cricketers of Railways currently in the Indian World Cup squad in England.”

The Indian team was the 7th ranked ODI team when they enter the multi-nation ODI tournament, but the girls made it to final of the WC with their stunning performance. However, they failed to lift their maiden World Cup crown, but they made the entire country proud on them.

Besides out-of-turn promotions, there will be also cash awards for the girls for their stunning show. She concluded, “There will be cash award too as per our extant policy.”